Sunday, 20 of September 2020

Programme

Below is a list of our upcoming events. New members are always welcome to attend; please consider contacting us in advance so that we can send you any relevant information or answer any questions you may have.

Unless otherwise stated, all regular meetings run from 18:00 to 20:00, with a ten-minute break around halfway through. We meet at the St. Martin’s in the Bull Ring community centre, usually meeting up outside the church before heading in. Update 2020-03-16: following UK government advice on social distancing, we are suspending in-person BWG meetings for the time being. The committee will be arranging an online alternative to be announced via the mailing list.

Programme may be subject to change.

 
Winter 2019

Wed 04 December 2019 – Winter competition adjudication.

Wed 18 December 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 01 January 2020no regular meeting, as venue will be closed.

Wed 15 January 2020 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 29 January 2020 – a standard meeting (unusually, on a fifth Wednesday!): the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 05 February 2020 – annual general meeting.

Wed 19 February 2020 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

 
Spring 2020

Wed 04 March 2020 – the first half of this meeting will involve generating story ideas for the Summer competition. The second half will involve reviewing four previously-submitted manuscripts as in a standard meeting.

18:30–20:30, Wed 18 March 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 01 April 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 08 April 2020 – workshop on author websites and mailing lists (online).

Wed 15 April 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 22 April 2020 – character development round table discussion (online)

Wed 29 April 2020 – fifth Wednesday social (online quiz night).

Wed 06 May 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 13 May 2020 – manuscript review session.

Wed 20 May 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 27 May 2020 – blurb and synopsis workshop (online).

 
Summer 2020

Wed 03 June 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 10 June 2020 – plotting and pantsing round table discussion (online)

Wed 17 June 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 24 June 2020 – round table discussion (online).

Wed 01 July 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 08 July 2020 – summer competition adjudication (online).

Wed 15 July 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 22 July 2020 – session on creative writing for therapeutic purposes.

Wed 29 July 2020 – no official meeting; fifth Wednesday social.

Wed 05 August 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 12 August 2020 – story ideas generation session.

Wed 19 August 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 16 August 2020 – manuscript review session.

 
Autumn 2020

Wed 02 September 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 09 September 2020 – ideas session to decide on a theme for Winter competition.

Wed 16 September 2020 – online meeting.

Wed 23 September 2020 – manuscript review session.

Wed 30 September 2020 – no official meeting; potential fifth Wednesday social.

Wed 07 October 2020 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 21 October 2020 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 04 November 2020 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 18 November 2020 – details to be confirmed.

 
Winter 2020

Wed 02 December 2020 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 16 December 2020 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 30 December 2020 – no official meeting; potential fifth Wednesday social.

Wed 06 January 2021 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 20 January 2021 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 03 February 2021 – details to be confirmed.

Wed 17 February 2021 – details to be confirmed.