Saturday, 23 of March 2019

Programme

Below is a list of our upcoming events. New members are always welcome to attend; please consider contacting us in advance so that we can send you any relevant information or answer any questions you may have.

Unless otherwise stated, all regular meetings run from 18:00 to 20:00, with a ten-minute break around halfway through. We meet at the St. Martin’s in the Bull Ring community centre, usually meeting up outside the church before heading in.

Many members go to a local pub (usually the Briar Rose on Bennett’s Hill) after the meeting to continue discussions, but this is entirely optional!

Programme may be subject to change.

 
Winter 2018

Wed 05 December 2018 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 19 December 2018 – adjudication of winter competition.

Wed 02 January 2019 – writing discussion (topic to be confirmed), followed by a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 16 January 2019 – discussion regarding forthcoming committee roles, followed by a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 30 January 2019 – no official meeting; fifth Wednesday social (venue to be confirmed).

Wed 06 February 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 20 February 2019 – annual general meeting – review and discussion of how the group is going, and election of new committee.

 
2019 programme: more details to be released shortly

 
Spring 2019

Wed 06 March 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 20 March 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 03 April 2019 – the first half of this meeting will involve discussing, developing, and deciding themes and ideas for the summer competition. The second half will involve reviewing four previously-submitted manuscripts as in a standard meeting.

Wed 17 April 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 01 May 2019 – writing workshop (details to be determined!)

Wed 15 May 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 29 May 2019 – no official meeting; fifth Wednesday social (venue to be confirmed).

 
Summer 2019

Wed 05 June 2019 – a standard meeting: the first half will involve people reading out short works brought along on the night for instant feedback; in the second half, the group will critique works submitted in advance.

Wed 19 June 2019

Wed 03 July 2019

Wed 17 July 2019

Wed 31 July 2019 – no official meeting; fifth Wednesday social (venue to be confirmed).

Wed 07 August 2019

Wed 21 August 2019

 
Autumn 2019

Wed 04 September 2019

Wed 18 September 2019

Wed 02 October 2019

Wed 16 October 2019

Wed 30 October 2019 – Hallowe’en spoken word social (venue to be confirmed).

Wed 06 November 2019

Wed 20 November 2019

 
Winter 2019

Wed 04 December 2019

Wed 18 December 2019

Wed 01 January 2020 – meeting may not run; need to check with host venue.

Wed 15 January 2020

Wed 29 January 2020 – no official meeting; fifth Wednesday social (venue to be confirmed).

Wed 05 February 2020

Wed 19 February 2020