Thursday, 9 of February 2023

Category » Prizes and competitions






WORD LIMIT:   1500 words


PRIZES:   1ST £50     2ND £25    3RD £15

ENTRY FEE:   £5.00

OPENING SENTENCE:      ”She did not need a looking glass to know she must look a fright.”

Cheques made payable to Sue Johnson

Double space entry

Put contact details on separate sheet

Entries will not be returned, so please do not send your only copy!
Only postal entries accepted. Please ensure correct postage!


Send To:


‘Ridiculous’ Short Story Competition,

c/o 2, Teme Close,




Leave a comment

Write a chocolate short story and win lunch with Joanne Harris

The FIG Tree in Garstang is delighted to announce their FIRST SHORT STORY WRITING COMPETITION!
The challenge for budding writers is to write a piece in any genre in no more than 1000 words on the theme of chocolate.
Shortlisted entries to be judged by our patron, the acclaimed author Joanne Harris
PRIZE: The top three finalists will be invited for lunch with Joanne Harris at The FIG Tree on Sunday 27th April 2014 and given free admission to her talk and discussion at the Crofters Hotel on the  same day.
Entry fee: £4 per story or £7 for two stories
No restriction on the number of stories entered by any individual
1000 words maximum per short story
Closing date: Friday 14th February 2014
Find full details here:

Leave a comment

MMU Novella Award

In 2014, Manchester Metropolitan University’s Cheshire Faculty is launching the inaugural MMU Novella Award, the first iteration of what will become a bi-annual literary prize. The competition will conclude with a one-day Novella Festival at the Cheshire Campus consisting of readings, talks and panel discussions. Novelist Jenn Ashworth will front the judging panel and decide the winner after a team of internal readers whittles down the submissions to a shortlist

Entries must be between 20,000 and 40,000 words long. The closing date for the competition is 23 May 2014


Leave a comment

Belper Short Story Competition

Due to its success last year, the Belper short story competition will again form part of the wider Belper Arts Festival.

Entrants may submit, by 31st March 2014, an original, previously unpublished story on any subject or genre.

The maximum word limit is 2500. There is an entry fee of £5 per story.

The best story will recieve a prize of £200. Second prize is a £50 book voucher.

Contact Kathy or Joan for an entry form.

Note that Birmingham Writers Group member Simon Fairbanks won this competition last year – take a look at his winning entry at the page above!

Leave a comment

Words for the Wounded’s 2nd writing prize

Words for the Wounded’s 2nd writing prize is launched – raising money to help in the recovery of wounded service personnel.

It has a 1st prize of £250, 2nd £100 and 3rd £50.

They ask for poetry, non-fiction or fiction up to a maximum of 400 words on the subject of The Journey. It can be physical, emotional or both.

The closing date is 11 March.

Have a look at the website and you can get all the details there.

There is also a W4W blog which includes writing tips which may be of interest ( )


Leave a comment

Deddington Writers Group competition 2014

The Deddington Writers’ Group in Oxfordshire will again be running a writing competition as part of the Deddington Festival (12-22 June, 2014).

It will be in two sections: Flash Fiction, open theme, max. 1000 words, poem in any style, max. 100 words.

Deadline is Monday 14th April, 2014.

Entry fee £3 per entry for stories and/or poems.

Prizes:First £100, Second £60, Third £30. Judges:TBA.

Short-listed entrants will be notified by early June and
invited to attend the Awards event in Deddington Church on Sunday, 22nd
June at 2.30 p.m.

Full details and an entry form can be downloaded from from the week commencing January 6th.

Leave a comment

Newfound journal invites writers to submit their work for their Annual Poetry Contest.

Deadline: August 15th, 2013
Judge: Rachel Eliza Griffiths
Awards: First place is $1,000 and publication, ten finalists will be announced, and all poems will be considered for publication as a general submission.
Submission Fee: $17
The winner will be announced in December in Hothouse Magazine.


Leave a comment



Short Story and Poetry -Entry Fee £5, Prizes £500, £200 and £100 plus a local
prize of £100

Judges - Della Galton (Short Stories) and Sean Borodale (Poetry)

Crime Novel (our fastest growing competition) Prize – introduction to a publisher plus £100

Judge – Janet Laurence

Closing Date
31st July 2013

For full details please visit our website ( or phone

Leave a comment

Writer’s Prize open for submissions

The Luke Bitmead Bursary, a writer’s prize for unpublished novelists is currently open for submissions (deadline 2nd August).

The prize was set up in memory of the first novelist to ever be published by Legend Press, who tragically died in
2006 aged just 34.

The award, now in its 6th year is the UK’s biggest prize for unpublished writers.

The winner receives £2500 and a publishing contract with Legend Press.

For details please visit


Leave a comment

Winchester Writers’ Conference Competitions

Here are some details about the Winchester Writers’ Conference Competitions:

The competitions include Writing for Children, the Short Story, the Shorter Short Story, Poetry,
Haiku, Feature Articles, Slim Volume, Small Edition, Crime Fiction,
Lifewriting, Retirement, The First Three Pages of the Novel, Sustainability of
the Environment and the Young Writers Poetry Competition. Something for Everyone!

The entries must be original and unpublished work, written by one author, submitted using a
pseudonym and must not have won an award in any previous competition.
Self-published work is acceptable. Copyright remains with the author. The
deadline is 24 May, 2013 for all competitions, except the Young Writers’ Poetry
Competition, which has a deadline of 19 July. Sixty-three prizes and five
trophies will be awarded at the Writers’ Awards Ceremony on June 22nd,
during the 33rd Winchester Writers’ Conference. In addition, the
winner of each competition will be published in the Winchester Writers’
Conference anthology,The Best of 2013, published in the autumn. For the
competition booklet, please follow this link: or
contact us for a printed copy.

On the website, please see the programme for the 33rd Winchester Writers’ Conference, 21 –
23 June, followed by In-Depth Workshops on 24 and 25 June. Seventy three
authors, literary agents, commissioning editors, poets, screenwriters and
industry specialists will be giving 15 workshops, 14 Masters’ Courses, 55 Talks
and over 700 one-to-one appointments. Plenary speakers are Julian and Emma
Fellowes, of Downton Abbey fame. Their niece, Jessica Fellowes, will present
the after-dinner talk Saturday evening,Behind the Scenes at Downton Abbey.
This year, groups of eight or more registering together receive a 20% discount!
To view both the full conference programme and competition booklet, please
follow this link:

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Leave a comment